Malta is a very small place. It is just an archipelago of islands about halfway between the coast of Sicily and North Africa. Set in the clear blue Mediterranean Sea, the Maltese are the moust southerly European country.

The archipelago consists of five islands: Malta, Goso, Comino and two smaller uninhabited islands: Cominetto and Flifla.

The strategic position of the Malta has turned these islands into a crossroad of history and a bone of contention.  The European powers of the past knew it well as a stepping stone between Europe and North Africa.



Malta's history can be traced back in the Sone and Bronze ages.

Malta has endured numerous invasions: Romans, Phoenicians, Arabs, Normans, Carthaginians, Castilians, French and British. Napoleon Bonaparte did unutterable damage during an only six day occupation. Malta stood up against Hitker despite massive bombing during World War II, deservedly earning the nation the George Cross medal from King George VI in 1942 and depicting it on the left hand corner of the flag.

Great Britain formally acquired possession of Malta in 1814. The island staunchly supported the UK through both World Wars and remained in the Commonwealth when it became independent in 1964. A decade later Malta became a republic. Since about the mid-1980s, the island has transformed itself into a freight transshipment point, a financial center, and a tourist destination. Malta became an EU member in May of 2004. 







Location: Southern Europe, islands in the Mediterranean Sea, south of Sicily (Italy)
Area: total: 316 sq km
Land boundaries: 0 km
Coastline: 196.8 km
continental shelf: 200-m depth or to the depth of exploitation
exclusive fishing zone: 25 nm
Mediterranean with mild, rainy winters and hot, dry summers
mostly low, rocky, flat to dissected plains; many coastal cliffs
Elevation extremes: lowest point: Mediterranean Sea 0 m
highest point: Ta'Dmejrek 253 m
  • Geography - note: the country comprises an archipelago, with only the three largest islands (Malta, Ghawdex or Gozo, and Kemmuna or Comino) being inhabited; numerous bays provide good harbors;


 398,534 p. (July 2005 est.)
Nationality: Maltese
Languages: Maltese (official), English (official)

Religions: Roman Catholic 98%
Ethnic groups: Maltese (descendants of ancient Carthaginians and Phoenicians, with strong elements of Italian and other Mediterranean stock)


Country name: Malta ; conventional long form: Republic of Malta
local form: Repubblika ta' Malta
Government type: republic
Capital: Valletta
Administrative divisions:

administered directly from Valletta; Local Councils carry out administrative orders
Independence: 21 September 1964 (from UK)
National holiday: Independence Day, 21 September (1964)
Chief of state: President

Head of government: Prime Minister
Cabinet: appointed by the president on the advice of the prime minister



















Christmas '05

Spring Day



to more

of our sites Capital Valeta / Our school

Copyright 2005 Child'sFriend.All rights reserved.